Fruit and Veggie Wash

Juicy July is still going strong! I’m juicing several times a week (it would be more if I could figure out how to preserve the fresh juice for longer than a day) and I love the way I feel when I’m juicing daily and consistently.

With all the produce that I now buy, I’ve been tempted to buy those vegetable and fruit wash sprays.  Not all of my produce is organic or locally grown. I also buy most of it from an international supermarket where people are picking over the produce and handling it.  So, properly washing off dirt and bacteria is important to me, which is why I’m happy I stumbled across this homemade concoction on tumblr.

 

Homemade Fruit and Veggie Wash

1 cup Water
1 cup Vinegar
2 Tbsp Baking Soda
Juice of 1 Lemon (2-3 Tbsp)

Mix water and vinegar in a large bowl. Add baking soda (the baking soda will react to the vinegar, creating lots of bubbles!). Stir in lemon juice and add mixture to a spray bottle. Rinse fruits or veggies with water and then spray well with your homemade wash. Allow the produce to sit for a few minutes and then rinse again with water.

Easy enough right? This recipe is not only cost effective but it’s green! I’ll be trying it out on all the new produce I buy this weekend when I go grocery shopping.

Try it out and tell me how it goes!

Leave a Reply

