Community Health Expo

Happy Tuesday Folks! 

My weekend was so busy that I needed Monday to recuperate before I came back to recap the Community Health Expo I volunteered at this weekend.  I was there working the Capital Breast Care Center exhibit but I managed to stop around a few of the tables to collect some knowledge and free swag!

DNA sequence bracelet I made representing Puppy Milk

Got all this from a sexual health exhibit. Too bad I’m #foreveralone

There were classes available like the “Eating Healthy” cooking class and thirty minute yoga, zumba and taiji demos. Unfortunately I couldn’t partake in any of the demos or classes since I was working the table.  I did, however, get to listen to the “Meet the Expert” speakers that were there discussing health and screening information, some of which was very interesting.  I also managed to find time to paint my face and learned that I can rock a face tattoo better than Mike Tyson!

Attending the expo put me in a healthy frame of mind and I headed to the gym with my roommate afterwards and did 30 whole minutes on the stair climber. To you regular masochists stair climbers, that may not seem like much, but even at the height of my fitness ability I only did 20 minutes on the stair climber. Sure, I thought I was going to keel over and die at minute 12 and minute 26, and sure my asthma kicked in causing me to cough for the last half of the climb, but the point is I finished, and I’m alive to blog about it!

Not sure if I can do it a second time though…

How was your weekend? Did you do anything fun or get a good workout in?

Leave a Reply

