Tri-Anything: Eat-in June Review

So June is winding down and I wanted to give you an update on how Eat-in June went.  You guys saw a glimpse of some of the yummy things I made during the month in this week’s Wordless Wednesday post.  As you can imagine, it started out easy enough. Unlike when I decided to go vegetarian, I was adequately prepared for this challenge with groceries and recipes.  I was so committed to the challenge that I even gave away my weekly vouchers for free pizza (earlier this year, I stood outside in the cold for 2.5 hours for a years worth of free pizza. I love pizza and I love free). My resolve started wavering by the weekend when my friend told me over gchat that I wasn’t invited to a dinner and a brunch because of Eat-In June. Rude!   I buckled down though and made my own dinner and my own brunch!

Bringing my lunch to work wasn’t the hassle I expected it to be.   Since I had been cooking more, there were usually leftovers to carry to work the next day.  I also enjoyed being able to eat when I was ready instead of waiting for the restaurant’s lunchtime rush to slow down.  I’ll probably take my lunch from now on.  There just isn’t a reason not to.

My month of eating in resulted in a 3.2 lbs weight loss. Whoop, whoop!  I think that’s pretty good for making what I consider to be very small changes. While I’m pleased with the weight loss, the effects of Eat-In June can be seen more drastically at the bank.  I broke down the price of a few of my favorite fast food staples and compared them to what I replaced them with at home.

Item Roti Greek Yogurt Parfait Fage Greek Yogurt
Ingredients Greek yogurt, granola, honey, fresh strawberries, craisins Greek yogurt and honey with a side of almonds and craisins
Approximate Price $3.50 $2.49

The difference in price is barely a dollar but when you consider that I’m eating fiber and protein rich almonds instead of tasty yet nutritionally deficient granola the value goes up.

Item Panera Greek Salad Homemade Greek Salad
Ingredients romaine lettuce, tomatoes, feta cheese, red onions, peperoncini, Kalamata olives & dressing romaine lettuce, tomatoes, feta cheese, red onions, Kalamata olives & dressing
Approximate Price $6.49 $3.80

As you can see I skipped the peppers in my homemade salad (I didn’t eat them in the Panera salad) but the difference in price is remarkable, especially since my homemade salad is larger and includes better quality ingredients like double cream French feta.  I didn’t notice until this comparison that I, apparently, like to eat Greek food, and often!

Item Chipotle Burrito Bowl Homemade Burrito Bowl
Ingredients Cilantro brown rice, black beans, fajita veggies, pico de gallo, green salsa, corn, guacamole Cilantro brown rice, salmon, black beans, pico de gallo, salsa, corn, guacamole.
Approximate Price $7.49 $6.41

My homemade burrito bowl was one of my favorite meals this month. Salmon is might expensive but it still managed to be cheaper then chipotle’s vegetarian bowl.  I probably also consumed A LOT less sodium since Chipotle, and restaurants in general, have meals that are laden with salt.

People say it takes a month to make something a habit and I think they might be right. I’m not going to rush out to a Chipotle, Chickfila, Panera, or Chopt on the first and gorge myself on their food. I’m really surprised at how much I don’t miss those places.   I’ll probably eat-in way more and get even more comfortable in the kitchen. Hopefully the eat-in challenge will inspire my friends to select social activities not centered around food so that I won’t be left out with my new eat-in lifestyle ahem, *cough* Vanessa I’m talking to you *cough*

 

How often do you think it’s healthy to eat out? Have a fit Friday!

Leave a Reply

