Rise and Shine

I’m a fitness blogger. I brought that title onto myself. Nobody asked me to start a blog, especially about a subject I know little about.  The fitness blogger title comes with a lot of responsibility.  I actually have to be fit. I have to workout and push myself.  At first, having a shiny new blog was enough to get me into the gym. It was enough for me to ignore my television and phone and instead spend an hour of my short evening in the gym.

Then things started happening. I was sore and spending my evening on the couch sounded better than going to workout. It was a warm and sunny day and spending my evening at happy hour sounded better than going to workout.  Work sucked and my metro commute sucked harder and ranting about my day on the phone sounded better than going to workout. At the end of one week, I realized that I was a fitness blogger who had only worked out twice that week for about 30 minutes. Not so fit.

Last week I turned it back around.  I worked out 6 times. Every single day except Monday.  On Thursday I kicked it up another notch and worked out twice! What got me off the couch and back into the gym? I changed my workouts to the morning.  I’m not a morning person by any stretch of the imagination.  I’m not even a likable person before 10 am.  However, I figure since mornings suck already, no matter what time I wake up, I might as well wake up an hour earlier and get a workout in. I have to workout in the morning before my brain realizes what I’m doing and convinces me to do otherwise.

At least she got coffee

It’s been working extremely well for me. Since I have specific window of time that I have to be in and out of the gym, my sessions are more focused and a bit more intense.  The gym is also empty and I can workout without feeling self-conscious and without being stared down by gym judgers.  It’s been made easier with the longer summer days. The sun’s up earlier and it wakes me up earlier.  Hopefully by the time fall comes around, I would have made waking up for a workout a habit and won’t be deterred by dark and cold mornings.  With my workout out of the way, I can spend my evenings preparing dinner and live tweeting trash reality television. I’m much happier this way.

When do you get your workouts in? Mornings or evenings?

~Donda

2 thoughts on “Rise and Shine

  1. I usually get mine done in the afternoon (its when both the roomie and I have time off), but I am thinking about doing them in the mornings for this next month (I’ll be away anyway). But I know what you mean about gym-judgers Back in December, my first go at working out, they was really bad for me. I’d go to the gym, put my tiny amount of weight on, and suddenly people were watching me! My anxiety got so bad that I ended up going at really weird hours to avoid people and then soon I just stopped going all together!

    • Yeah it’s really hard to get out of your own head when you’re doing something you’re not used to or comfortable with. Hopefully the longer we workout the more confident we become!

Leave a Reply

