Gym Review: XSport Fitness

As I mentioned during my rant on Gym Judgers, I recently visited a new gym.  I went to Xsport Fitness as a guest of my roommate.  While there I decided to look around at all the gym had to offer and give you guys a quick review.

The gym offers memberships starting at $9.95 a month (although that rate is for their Express locations) , there’s a 30 day money back guarantee as well as month to month memberships for commitment phobes like myself.  There’s towel service and a complimentary training session.  Their training  packages can be pricy but they are known for being extremely effective.

Location:

The gym is located in Alexandria, VA in a residential area. There is a parking garage that is shared with the surrounding establishments so you may not find a close spot but there will always be parking.  The gym validates your parking for two hours (although they’ve been known to make exceptions for longer times).

Amenities:

The gym appears to be small form the outside but is incredibly large.  It’s three levels and is open 24 hours a day. It has a lane pool, studios, steam and sauna, basketball court, and a café/juice bar with Wifi.  There’s also children’s play area.  While you’re children are there you can tune in to what’s going from your cardio machine’s television.  They offer salon/spa services which I thought was pretty random. Who goes to the gym for a blowout?  There are also rows and rows of cardio machine. I went arrived at quarter to 8 and I there was no wait time for the elliptical, treadmill, or stair climber. They also had some contraption I had never used or seen before, I just knew it terrifeid me.

Torture device or fitness equipment?

Class Schedule:

I didn’t attend any of the classes available (yet) but the gym offers over 60 classes a week.  Classes include kickboxing, step aerobics, sculpting, group strength, boot camp, dance, indoor cycling, Pilates and yoga. The lane pool is also utilized for aqua aerobics.  I haven’t taken a group fitness class with them before but I might try to drop in on their Wednesday Body Pump class.

The Grade:

A

I don’t have many complaints about Xsport Fitness. The gym is clean, large and beautiful, the staff and trainers are kind and knowledgeable, and they offer a lot for the price of membership. If I was on the market to join a gym Xsport would definitely be the gym I chose.

Leave a Reply

