“We Gon’ Make It” Week 2 Recap

Another week down! (Go Me! Go Me!) My trainer has assigned me workouts to complete during the days when we don’t meet so I have been following those workouts on a weekly basis.   I look better and my stamina has definitely improved. I also feel stronger and have noticed that I am able to push myself harder than I have in the past.

Monday:

Monday I did 15 minutes on the treadmill and 25 minutes on an Arc Trainer, which I believe is a medieval torture device.

Medieval Torture Device

My trainer loves this machine for me because, per the website:

“The Arc Trainer, is scientifically tested to be gentler on your joints, burn 16% more calories than an elliptical, and are stronger and more durable than the leading ellipticals.”

After 5 minutes on this machine, you will be drenched in sweat and your legs and abs will burn.  Its a great machine, much more effective for me than an elliptical, but I hate it and it hates me.

I also did 50 crunches and a 30 second plank.

Tuesday:

Tuesdays are hard days for me because of school.  This Tuesday  I had a paper and a speech to give along with a slew of meetings and a dinner.  By the end of the day I was exhausted and I did not go to the gym.  My trainer does not like my 30 days of gyming (she thinks the body needs to rest) so she was very happy that I did not go on Tuesday, but I was disappointed that I couldn’t make it work.

Wednesday:

Wednesday I went to Aqua Zumba for my third week.  The class is fun, but becomes less challenging every week.  I have had to really try to twerk as hard as possible in order to get the heart thumping excitement that I had in previous classes.  I also need a different bathing suit.  I am top heavy and have never tried to purchase a sport suit.  Triangle tops and F cups are not friends … jumping up and down in a triangle top with F cups is a disaster.  I was so stressed trying to keep myself decent, I couldn’t focus as much on my workout as I hoped.  I am planning on buying a new more modest suit.  Also, to increase my work out, next week I’m going to take the Aqua Workout class before Aqua Zumba.

Thursday:

Thursday I met with my trainer again.  She was hell bent on me working out outside, which was really against because I know too many people on my law school’s campus.  By the third lap around the school, I had spoken to or greeted at least 10 people and I was HELLA self conscious.  I was more interested in getting inside and therefore didn’t give my workout my 110% like I should have.

I was talking to Donda about this and I told her that I am uncomfortable with my fitness.  It’s very hard to outwardly acknowledge that you aren’t where you want to be.  I can go super hard indoors but when I get outside and I’m high fiving my friends, I feel very self conscious.  I’m trying to get past it and it’s happening slowly.

Friday:

Friday was pretty uneventful, I did 40 minutes on the Arc Trainer and stretched.  I had a very bad cramp on Saturday and Monday so my trainer advised me not to do any ab work so I worked out and went home.

Saturday:

I worked out with my trainer on Saturday and it was a great workout.  She pushed me much harder than I wanted to go and I felt very accomplished after the training.  By the end of the day she was calling me a rockstar and we agreed that we wouldn’t train outside on busy days anymore.

Sunday:

No workout on Sunday.  My trainer told me to rest and I was feeling pretty worn out after all the work I did over the past two weeks.

A note about diet: I haven’t been doing the best on my eating this week which is negating a lot of the work that I have been doing.  I’m trying to get back on track with the eating because as everyone knows, you can’t exercise away a bad diet.

– Tha Management

Leave a Reply

