H20 on the Go

Whenever I read health tips that promote swapping out sugary sodas and juices for water to drop the pounds, I get a little sad.  About 4 years ago I did just that and not one single pound was dropped as a result.  Even though water didn’t result me in losing any weight, I still stuck with it.  In addition to keeping my skin clear and my body flushed, water is the only guaranteed thirst quencher, doesn’t compete with the taste of your delicious food, and is free-ish. Water is my primary and favorite drink of choice.  I may drink the occasional ginger ale or cocktail but always with side of water.  In fact water’s only flaw is that it doesn’t get you drunk.  If you’re still not sold on the benefits of water, direct your focus to this handy bulleted list of reasons why water is awesome:

  • Water leads to increased energy levels. The most common cause of daytime fatigue is actually mild dehydration.
  • Drinking water can significantly reduce joint and/or back pain.
  • Water leads to overall greater health by flushing out wastes and bacteria that can cause disease.
  • Water can prevent and alleviate headaches.
  • Water naturally moisturizes skin and ensures proper cellular formation underneath layers of skin to give it a healthy, glowing appearance.
  • Water aids in the digestion process and prevents constipation.
  • Water is the primary mode of transportation for all nutrients in the body and is essential for proper circulation. [courtesy of allaboutwater.org]

Despite my love for water, I always find myself without it at the most inopportune times. If I am going to the gym, class, or any other place outside of my home and office, I will get thirsty and I will not have water.  I touched on how much this cost me during #fitblog but didn’t do much to rectify the situation afterwards.  In steps my roomie to save the day with a brand spanking new water bottle with Brita filtration.

Gettin' thirsty just lookin' at it.

My fancy new bottle features a sport top, so I can drink from it during a workout. If you drink during a workout, be sure to take small sips and sip on the exhale. Big gulps or sipping on the inhale may cause you to take in excess air, cough uncontrollably and have the teacher pause cycle class to make sure you’re not dying, or so I’ve heard… The general rule of thumb is to drink half your body weight in ounces. For me that’s more ounces then I’m comfortable sharing at this point but suffice to say my water bottle will be refilled frequently. Even if you don’t have a super fancy water bottle like mine, be sure to get in as much water as you can.

One thought on “H20 on the Go

  1. Fancy bottle! I know size and shape are a huge mental game for me. I cannot drink out of a wide mouth Nalgene. I feel like I’m not even making a dent, though I don’t mind my big mason jar if I have lemons. Tall and skinny seems to be my go-to when I’m drinking plain water or water with some apple cider vinegar. I save my glass GT kombucha bottles and use those 🙂
    Jocellyn

Leave a Reply

