The Fat Friend

Hello everyone, my name is EJ and I am supposed to be the “Tri” in trianythingfitness. Sheri, T, and I have been friends since the 7th grade and since then have transformed mentally, spiritually and physically together. I remember my two four-eyed companions as awkward nerdy middle schoolers while I have always been the epitome of grace and structure.

Note: that story may or may not be true.

When I was in the 10th grade I got a job at Burger King … that was the biggest fail of my fitness life. I remember buying a pair of size 7 jeans for that job and by the time I quit not being able to even think about wearing them. I only became more plump from there until I moved to Philadelphia to complete my college education. In Philly I randomly decided to start going to the gym and lost 40 lbs in 2 months. It was very strange and sudden and brought on by sheer boredom. I would “eat” situps and pushups — meaning three times a day (breakfast, lunch and dinner) I did a set of pushups and situps until I was doing 120 situps and 50 pushups. I would go to the gym regularly and I walked a lot. I also was very strict with my diet and only ate things that I could distinctly count the calories on and I never went over 1K calories a day.

THIS WAS NOT HEALTHY. I want to reiterate that it was successful but not healthy and not sustainable. As I was engaging in a particularly unhealthy ritual, it was only a matter of time before I quit all of that “healthy”, got a man, and got back into that carry-out food.

When my then boyfriend moved to Florida (and I was lonely), I did a quick inventory and realized that I gained back most of the weight that I lost. Without him around, I decided to get back on the ball and lose the weight, again. Because I didn’t like the way I lost the weight before, I hired a trainer and he whooped my butt into SHAPE (that shape was a coke bottle … I was BAD). He threw away all my food (that was a bad day), made me work out A LOT, and encouraged me to keep on my fitness goals.

I started working two jobs at the same time and wavered on my fitness goals yet again. My trainer quit me (yup, he put me out of the gym because I wasn’t focused) and I crept slowly back up to my highest weight. I moved back home to Maryland, started really working too much (70 hour weeks) and the lbs started adding back up. My breaking point was when I saw a picture of myself on my trip to Mexico with the girls and realized I had gotten humongous. I joined a gym, revamped my diet, and once again, the lbs fell off. I wasn’t at my goal weight, but I looked and felt good.

Then I decided to go to law school. Gyming died, eating healthy is a joke, and stress is at a max. I have now hit my newest heaviest weight, and I told T if I get too big she has permission to shoot me and end my misery. She told me that I don’t have to be mercy killed, I could just start going to the gym again … and I agree. So here I am, the fat friend, making another go at fitness.

– Tha Management

 

One thought on “The Fat Friend

Leave a Reply

